Monday, December 6, 2010

More sugar factories to come up in Belgaum


Sugarcane growers from Belgaum district will have more options when supplying their produce, and to get a competitive price in the coming years, with the government giving licences to nine more companies to establish sugar factories.
The district is the largest producer of sugar cane in the state having 200,842 hectares of land growing the cane. Of the 20 factories, 16 are functioning.
The newly-approved sugar factories are Shiraguppa Sugars at Kagwad in Athani taluk, Basaveshwar Sugars at Belagiri in Athani taluk, Beereshwar Sugars at Alagawadi in Raibag taluk, Devachand Sugars at Shivapurwadi in Athani taluk, Gokak Sugars at Hirenandi in Gokak taluk, Shivashakti Sugars at Savadatti in Raibag taluk, Uttam Sugars at Mallapur in Bailhongal taluk, Shivasagar Sugars at Udapudi in Ramdurg taluk and Om Sugars at Jainapur in Chikkodi taluk.

No comments: